Summertime Sadness

photo 1

Yes, yes, yes… It’s long-awaited summertime! Thin dresses are back in our wardrobes, stylish hats are waiting to be weared, there are lots of colorful accessories to match with chic sunglasses. We have more freedom to dress ourselves than in wintertime.  But, what about keeping this glamour forever? Lana Del Rey has right to find herself in a ‘Summertime Sadness’ even it’s the season of fun and joy 🙂

Especially if you have oily skin, it is very hard to keep your make up stable, and keep your skin dry in hot weather. There are many waterproof products, it’s OK. But since they have thicker consistency, they are not my choice for summer. I’d prefer lighter products for summer, to not to stick on my skin with hot weather. Your skin needs to sweat and breathe more in hot weather and with waterproof products, it’s harder. I mean, your make up should be like your dresses in summer: thin and flyaway.

So what to do? Not to wear any make-up in summer? Of course not. Here my tricks to keep my make-up and skin dry and stable in hot weather.

First, I always start my make up with water-based skin products. If you have much to cover, you can choose a water-based foundation like Mac Face and Body Foundation. I prefer a tinted moisturizer and after a powder foundation like Givenchy Teint Couture Powder Foundation. Powder texture helps to keep my oily skin dry in hot weather and I use it during day as a blot powder, since it has very fine texture.

But if you have marks, imperfections or acne on your face, it’s better to start with covering them. You should go for a light texture for coverage also. I recently tested Bioderma Sebium Al Correcteur and I was satisfied. It is thick enough to cover my imperfections and light enough not to cover all my face like a mask. It has two parts, the green pata cream part to cover your imperfection and a tinted cream part to put all over your face to even out the complexion. It contains “Fluidactiv formula” like all other Sebium products, so it also heals imperfections when covers them.

photo 3

Here, in first photo you see my big pimple on my chin, in second photo I cover it with green pata cream, in third one you can see it with tinted cream after pata cream. The appearance of the pimple reduces a lot. And in the last photo, I put one layer from my powder foundation. Healthy and light enough for summer skin make up.

Let me give you another trick, this time for lip glosses. We love them don’t we? Especially in summer, they are juicier and lighter substitutions for lipsticks. But they go away quickly with hot and sweat. So use your old friend: lip pencils. They might look like an old fashion make up product but don’t underestimate them. If you use the right color and right amount, lip pencils can help you to keep your lipgloss longer and more defined on your lips. The trick here, to use a lip pencil just slightly darker than your lipgloss. Just one tone darker, not more. Here I use L’oreal Infallible Lip Liner, 702 Always Plum with Make Up Forever Lab Shine Star Collection s24

photo 4

photo 2

First, I draw my lip line with the lip pencil as usual. After, I drew vertical lines on my lips with the lip pencil. Later on, I put the lip gloss and pressed my lips together to blend everything. Voila! The powdery constitution of the lip pencil will help keeping the lip gloss inside your lipline. And the color is more defined. The 4th photo is with flash.

What about keeping you face all day dry but mouisturised? Here you are: face sprays. I recommend thermal spring water sprays. I use La Roche Posay Thermal Spring Water but you can use any spray from French pharmacy brands, clearly there is no big difference. They help to take sweat, cleaning pores and give you fresh feeling. Especially when you are on the beach, there is nothing fresher than a thermal water spray after the sea 😉

fotograf5

My other choice is Caudalie Beauty Elixir The company says they inspired Queen Isabelle of Hungary’s ‘Elixir of Youth’ therefore the spray gives an instant radiance and freshness. It is make up friendly so don’t afraid to spray it on your face with make up, it won’t ruin your make up, on the contrary, the spray will fix your make up.

Here are my tricks to get over ‘Summertime Sadness’ for make-up. What about you? What are you doing to keep your make up and skin fresh, with hot weather?

Leave a comment